Teeth

This one time, I went to a new dentist, and the hygienist asked if I drank red wine, coffee, or dark soda on a regular basis because my teeth were so yellow.

In fact, I do not. But that’s kind of unrelated to this post.

I think I’ve got fair to middling teeth. I had braces for a couple years, so they’re more or less straight (I didn’t wear my retainer long enough because I wasn’t really given a time frame, but two years wasn’t enough apparently), and they’re not abnormally large or pitifully small. I get compliments on my smile, so I assume if I had janky teeth, that wouldn’t happen so much. So you can imagine how dismayed I was when I was sitting at work one day a couple months back, eating lunch, and suddenly experienced the sharp pain of a chipped filling. It was pretty intense, but I found a dentist on a whim who would see me that day, so I headed on over to his office where I found out:

I had actually chipped my tooth.

It wasn’t an enormous chip — just a corner — but the real kicker was that I couldn’t blame my potato chips. It was all because I grind my teeth at night (and sometimes during the day) and hadΒ ground them to decay. I didn’t even know that was a thing.

That was kind of a huge low point, but he patched it up, and it looks like a tooth, and it feels just fine.

The real low point about which I’m writing tonight is my terrible discovery that I have apparently CHIPPED MY FRONT TOOTH AS WELL. I didn’t discover this because of pain or sensitivity — I noticed it when I was looking in the mirror after brushing and realized part of my front tooth is just missing. Having just been to the dentist this week for a cleaning, it’s apparently an old-ish thing or else someone would have mentioned it, so now New Dentist probably thinks I just sit around, grinding my teeth all day long, letting them chip off onto my desk.

You're welcome for this nightmare of a photo. It doesn't really capture how horrific the chip is, but I assure you, it's there and it's terrible.

You’re welcome for this nightmare of a photo. It doesn’t really capture how horrific the chip is, but I assure you, it’s there and it’s terrible. Also try to ignore what’s going on with my bottom teeth.

But the thing is:Β I don’t feel that inclined to spend hundreds of dollars for him to patch it up if it’s not really doing any bad, although I have this fear that continues to creep up in the back of my mind that this chip will lead to a crack through the entire tooth till one day half of it just falls out of my mouth.

Oh gosh. I just can’t.

3 thoughts on “Teeth

  1. Pingback: Let’s See How 2014 is Going | The Low Point

Leave a Reply

