When Weekends Turn Stupid

In my defense of appearing to blog twice in one day, I believe I published my last post around 12:03 AM, which for all intents and purposes should totally be considered yesterday. Because seriously, guys, it practically is.

Anyhow, as I inferred, the weekend was somewhat stupid. I say only somewhat because there were some really rad points, namely that I was cast as Aida in a community theater production of “Aida,” which was a huge deal because prior to this, I’d only ever done ensemble roles. Yes, I’m Asian. I live in Utah — concessions have to be made. Besides, colorblind casting is all the rage these days (I don’t know if this is actually true, but if it’s not, it should be). And so, beginning on the 11th, I’ll channel my inner-Heather Headley and also my inner-Rainman because seriously, you guys, I am so bad at memorization it’s not even funny.

So that was great news. Actually, it’s been one of the best things ever to happen to me, right up there with being adopted, getting married, discovering bulk bacon at Costco, and winning first place in two divisions at a vocal competition here. There are other good things that have happened in my life, by the way. It’s not like six is my total. That would be super depressing.

But then.

As we may recall, I have kind of a lousy body that breaks from time to time. This has proven to be relatively exciting — all the things we discover. But it’s also lame sometimes, like this past weekend when:

  • My body decided to reject some of my vital organs, leading to pain kind of around my chest down to my feet, further leading to an inability to stand up straight
  • This pain ALSO led to my torn, old person hip pain to become inflamed in a way I’d forgotten
  • I had the type of allergies that, despite taking a 24-hour Zyrtec, resulted in a very drippy nose and very itchy eyes for several hours
  • My neurological system was attacked by the side effects of weaning off one medication for another, and I was dizzy and nauseated
  • And just because, I overdid the summer sandal exfoliation on my feet and now my left heel is raw and difficult to walk on

All these things happened at the same time! On the same day! And we leapt and pranced and rejoiced for the hour of fun was at hand.

Except not really. I actually laid around on the couch and then in the bed, and I made Husband take the cat out to the living room and close the door because I just didn’t want to be around her. I mean, I love her, but she’s kind of a solid cat (this is not me calling her fat — she’s definitely not. Perhaps she has dense bones.), and when she sits on me, it’s a little bit like being weighted down by, say, a piano.

And then I woke up at 4:15 this morning to continue my celebration. [As an aside, it’s remarkable how long it takes society to get up out of bed and on Facebook chat.]

2 thoughts on “When Weekends Turn Stupid

Leave a Reply

