Happiness is Pizza with Sausage

Lest you think I’ve gone off the deep end, the title of this post is a nice little homage to “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown,” which, incidentally, has one of my two dream characters in it. Once I am Lucy, then my life will otherwise be complete. Well, her and the narrator from “Joseph.”

But I seriously digress (and before I even get started).

There are several things that make me inexplicably happy — almost to the point of elation. They’re kind of the opposites of pet peeves. Pet … delights. That’s not creepy sounding at all. Brings to mind Gene Wilder’s Willy Wonka a little bit.

And I suppose there are people out there who find inordinate amounts of joy over some of the same things I do, but I feel like maybe not. I am, after all, a pretty special girl. So, in no particular order:

The automatic paper towel dispenser misfeed. This might be my favorite. Sometimes the custodial staff on campus somehow misfeed the paper towels so two come out at one time. This inevitably makes my work day about 10x better and has the same lasting effects as a random trip to Taco Bell. On the flipside, it’s day ruining when they discover their error and fix it.

Groceries. The other day, I effectively worked myself into The Biggest Tizz over ordering groceries online from a co-op. No one else really expressed the same elation as me, which I mostly found confusing because groceries are FUN.

The “I’m going to meow right now” Kitty Yawn. Seriously. Nearly every time Princess Fluffybutt yawns, she decides that’s also a great time to meow. It’s adorably squeaky and small and tends to confuse her. Like that scene in “The Emperor’s New Groove” when the bad chick turns into a kitten and says, “This is my voice?” Which isn’t to say my cat’s human voice sounds like Eartha Kitt on helium.

The Errant French Fry. This is probably my most relatable – I just love when I order onion rings or tater tots and get a fry. Extra bonus when there are two. I mean, seriously if that doesn’t make your day better, then I don’t know what will.

And there it is. Four things that make me so happy, I practically pass out from sheer delight. Four weird, random things. I’m really banking on the paper towel thing tomorrow — after a somewhat stupid weekend (more on that later), I think I deserve it. That or a free taco.

5 thoughts on “Happiness is Pizza with Sausage

    • I have this sneaking suspicion that I am actually Lucy in the flesh. Mostly bossy; also, I feel rather certain I’m right all the time.

      Thanks for checking my blog out! This is my first foray into not talking about how lame I am. 🙂

  1. Pingback: When Weekends Turn Stupid | The Low Point

  2. one of my favorite things is when the mail man brings the grocery ads. I love to look through, see whats on sale, then make my menu for the week based on that & whatever I feel like eating. I also love going grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

