Hair

On the night I decided, on a whim, to dye my hair red, from a $6.99 box purchased at Target, with the claims that it would turn my nearly black hair dark red (in fact, those claims were absolutely true), having never dyed my hair before, my blow dryer died.

Hey, mom. Sorry I didn't tell you about this before you read this blog post. I didn't want to give you a heart attack over the phone or hear the disappointment in your voice. It's better this way, I'm pretty sure.

Hey, mom. Sorry I didn’t tell you about this before you read this blog post. I didn’t want to give you a heart attack over the phone or hear the disappointment in your voice. It’s better this way, I’m pretty sure.

Yes, another blow dryer death. It’s funny because the first time I colored my hair (yes, I did it twice in one night because the roots were freakishly light and the rest of my hair was still marginally dark brown), I managed to blow dry it just fine, and I set the dryer down on the counter as per usual, but when I went to dry it after the second go around (I’m not sure it worked. I still kind of have a reverse ombre. I’m over it.), nothing happened. No air whatsoever.

So, in fact, my lousy hair color job, which will lead to my hairstylist to make fun of me for weeks to come (I’m already over that because, you know, sometimes you need to color your own hair just to see what happens — my mother will disagree with this on several bases), is not the low point of my day. The low point is that the blow dryer, purchased to replaced a blow dryer that suddenly died, … suddenly died.

This wouldn’t be such a problem if I had longer hair, which I’ve been wishing and hoping for ever since the afternoon I realized I’m way prettier with longer hair. I could throw it into a ponytail or let it air dry or try those beachy waves that are so popular these days. Alas and alack, my hair is relatively short, and to not blow dry it will lead to my looking not cute.

I hate not looking cute.

UPDATE: I’m a moron. The blow dryer is fine. So the real REAL low point is that I wrote an entire blog post about my dead blow dryer right before discovering it was fine.

Red hair, dry

5 thoughts on “Hair

Leave a Reply

