Updation Station

You know those awesome Mom blogs that are full of crafts and recipes? And at the end of the year (or the beginning of the following), they re-post the most popular? And there are pictures and tutorials and it’s so awesome?

This is going to be kind of like that, except without crafts or recipes or tutorials. Also, I’m choosing which posts I want to update you about because it’s my blog and I can do stuff like that. I’ll throw in a picture or two, though, I promise.

Okay, fine. Here’s a recipe I found on the internet by typing in the word “recipe”:

Recipe: Roasted sweet potato pâté
As found on the Seattle Times

This smooth, sweet vegetable pâté is perfectly complemented by the crunch of the nuts and the bite of the mustard.

Makes about 2 cups (8 servings)

2 pounds sweet potatoes (about 3 medium potatoes)

1/4 cup olive oil, or more to taste

1 teaspoon sherry vinegar

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2 cups canned no-salt-added chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Hot water, as needed

For serving:

Whole-grain mustard

Crushed roasted cashew nuts (salted or unsalted)

Baguette toasts

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Peel the sweet potatoes and cut them into 1/2-inch chunks; they don’t need to be perfect, because they will be puréed. Transfer to a mixing bowl and add the oil, vinegar, onion, cumin, allspice, salt and pepper; toss to coat. Spread the mixture out on a baking sheet and roast until the potatoes are tender, 20 to 30 minutes.

Allow the mixture to cool just a little, then transfer to the bowl of a food processor. Add the chickpeas and purée until smooth and creamy. The pâté should be quite thick but still able to move around in the food processor. If it’s too thick, drizzle in a little hot water. Alternatively, for a richer pâté, drizzle in more oil.

Allow the mixture to cool in the refrigerator, covered, for at least three hours and preferably overnight.

Serve in ramekins, accompanied by other ramekins filled with the mustard and the nuts, and offer toasted slices of baguette.

Nutrition per 1/4-cup serving (pate only): 230 calories, 5 g protein, 36 g carbohydrates, 7 g fat, 1 g saturated fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 370 mg sodium, 6 g dietary fiber, 5 g sugar

From chef Rich Landau of Vedge in Philadelphia

Gross. I’d never make this and there’s not even a picture.

  • I still occasionally get MRIs and, yes, I still look smokin’ hot in the scrubs.
Case in point.

Case in point.

  • I’ve given up on Pandora. Moved on to Grooveshark and then Spotify and then realized they all fail, so I either sit in stark silence or I plug in my iPhone. BECAUSE I HAVE AN IPHONE.
  • Sunburns. They still happen.
  • There is the possibility that my expensive, fancy schmancy running shoes have been downgraded to “shoes I wear while donning yoga pants.”
  • Shadra remains, to this day, awesome.
  • My vocabulary still sucks, but I’ve decided in my old and wizened age to be okay with that.
  • I’m pleased to report that there is really awesome sushi in Japantown, San Francisco, and I have decided once and for all to abstain from grocery store sushi for the rest of my life.
Full stomachs courtesy of Isobune Sushi in Japantown

Full stomachs courtesy of Isobune Sushi in Japantown

  • Yesterday, Husband and I went shopping and we were checked out by three different young men who were all skinny and all dressed like girls (not, like, transvestites. Like hipsters.) and it made me sad for humanity. Also, I figure the population is going to eventually get depleted because there’s no way a guy can maintain his manhood in skinny jeans. That just can’t be good.
  • Being a Democrat in Utah still sucks. But I’m less angry about it.
  • I’m getting laser eye surgery. It’s really happening — a person is going to shoot lasers into my brain and bore holes into my soul. Date has been set, but for the benefit of my mother, who wants to crawl into a hole and die every time she thinks about this impending doom surgery, I’m not disclosing it till after everything goes right. I might start wearing prescription-free glasses, like the young’uns do these days, though. You know, for fashion’s sake.

Hipster Mary

This much cute. This much cute just happened to you.

This much cute. This much cute just happened to you.

All in all, 2012 proved to be a pretty decent year for me. Scratch that — aside from the confusion over my Asian face and Caucasian name, it was rad. Super rad.

So happy 2013, you guys. Just rock the crap out of 2013 for me.

7 thoughts on “Updation Station

    • Puneet! Here is what happened. I added your blog to my blog roll, and then I couldn’t ever find it because I probably follow too many SO I subscribed via email, and sad story: I never get emails about your posts. So. I promise I am trying to be a loyal reader. Promise. Because you are awesome and happy new year to you, too!

      • Ah, I’m sorry! Is this the old WordPress blog or the new update you are talking about? Let me know so I can fix it.

        And don’t worry – I’ll keep making appearances here to comment on your low points, so I’ll be around 😀

      • The old WordPress blog. I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW YOU HAD A NEW ONE TILL NOW. But I have found it, and I’ve read it, and I commented, and I’m probably going to have to old school bookmark it.

  1. I just saw! 🙂 If you use a feed reader (like Google Reader), you can subscribe via the RSS link. I’m working on setting up email subscriptions as well – sorry! It will be easier to keep up soon.

Leave a Reply

