The Ill-Placed Nap

Truth be told, I try to not take very many naps because I’m already somewhat of an insomniac. And while I generally hit a zombie/coma point around 4:00 pm every single day, I almost always push through till, you know, about 2:00 am. Insomnia sucks, guys.

Photo courtesy of gettyimages.com
This came up when I searched insomnia. So … why not.

But after an event-filled weekend at the beach (seriously the wedding was a 4-day extravaganza), we got home and I made dinner and then I hit that ole brick wall.

“I’m just going to lay down for a bit,” I said. “I’m definitely not going to bed right now,” I said.

If life has taught me anything, it’s that sometimes I say stupid things.

The inherent problem with laying down “for a bit” around 7:00 pm is that you will, inevitably, wake up at some point. You will realize how much you need to brush your teeth (thanks, garlic, I thought we were friends). And, if you’re anything like me (I’m sorry), then you also have this teeny tiny little sliver of a window of time during which you can successfully do things without fully waking up.

Seriously I think my window of time is about 30 seconds.

And after talking with Husband on the phone and brushing my teeth and grabbing my computer to Facebook just “for a bit” (I’m an idiot), I unfortunately became wide-eyed and bushy tailed. That might be something of an exaggeration but point is: I fully woke up, and there’s nothing I can do about it.

And I kind of want some more dinner.

Oh, remind me to tell you about the time I forgot my glasses in a completely different state but had such wretched eyesight that I had to wear contacts to bed and put them in first thing. Yeah. That happened.

One thought on “The Ill-Placed Nap

Leave a Reply

